Who are you?

Something weird happened to me the other day. At work the other day, he found out that one of the people he was working with on a loan or something has read my blog. I don’t have any idea who this person is, but would like to make a suggestion:

Tell me who you are. Not just you, girl at the credit union, but you, whoever happens to be reading this right now. Maybe we have something in common. Maybe you have done something super cool of which I need to be super jealous and read all about. Maybe we’ve had similar experiences. (A lot of the new blogs I’m following came as a result of my last post. Now there are all sorts of people I “know” who have had miscarriages. Somehow, it feels pretty outstanding to know my feelings aren’t incredibly unique.)

So if you’re reading this, and whether I know you or not, leave a comment. Here are some things to mention if you need some help. Yes, I’m requiring it.

  1. Share something you generally try to keep a secret. 
  2. Tell me where you would live out your remaining days if money/jobs/family was no object.
  3. What do you love most about where you are at right now in the world? (not a philosophical question)
  4. List five good things about yourself. 
  5. If you had to listen to three songs on repeat for the rest of your life, what would they be?
  6. If your life were to be narrated by a famous author, who would it be?

And since it’s only fair:

  1. I don’t like to read. I have a degree in English and I chose English because I always did really well in English and wanted my undergrad coursework to be easy (it was). I chose a Technical Writing emphasis because it required the least amount of reading. Someone told me the other day, “Oh you must love to read then!” but the fact is, I don’t. This may be because I am SUPER critical of most fictional work I read.
  2. I would live in some third world country. I lived in Ghana for a few months a long time ago, and there is something super wonderful about living in a place where the conditions are so very humble, living a minimalist lifestyle is really the only choice you have, and the cost of living is nothing. Also, no Obamacare. ;)
  3. There are a million kids. I don’t love most other people’s kids (that would fall under #1 too), but I recognize how good this is for my daughter, who is very outgoing and friendly. Also, it means that there are lots of things for us to do and lots of opportunity to get out of the house.
  4. I love my handwriting. My talents are also marketable skills and allow me to make a living doing what I love. I am snarky. I second guess everything, which leads me to have different thoughts and beliefs about things, which rubs people the wrong way, which makes life interesting. I have great hair. 
  5. Retrace by Anberlin, Say Anything by Mae,  Tip the Scales by Rise Against. These are all subject to change. I imagine they will in five seconds. Saturday in the Park by Chicago (the old Chicago), Sunshine of My Life by Stevie Wonder, Dancing in September by Earth, Wind & Fire. See? 
  6. David Sedaris. His snarkiness and sarcasm is the perfect flavor to illustrate my weirdness.
9 thoughts on “Who are you?

  1. 1) I have known you since highschool. (okay, not really secret, but I couldn’t resist)
    2) In the current house I live in, with my family.
    3) My family (so far I have been blessed with a wife and 3 boys)
    4) I make balloon animals, run a free ham radio study website, my children (and wife) love me, I am very good at what I do (software development), and I love to read.
    5) I. Would. Go. Insane. (no, that’s not a song, it’s a fact)
    6) Probably Brandon Sanderson, simply because he is one of my favorite authors. I think he’d find my life a little drab compared to the fantasy worlds he normally creates, though =]

  2. What a cool way to get to know people! Love what I’ve read on your blog, btw. You are a good writer. And a very honest one. Here goes my list:
    1. I am lazier than I’d like to admit.
    2. I’d have to travel more and put more time and thought in to have a better idea of the specific place, but I imagine it would be somewhere with a lush green natural landscape, lots of rural land, mountains, good friendly people, and enough basic stores that were easily accessible with good prices. Also somewhere where there was an awesome, vibrant and varied culture with good values, and a predominant language in addition to English so I would have ample opportunity to learn and practice it.
    3. The great layout of the city.
    The safety.
    The excellent schools.
    The safety and low crime rate.
    It’s family friendly with generally conservative values.
    There are a few farms and rural areas.
    It’s relatively small, but still has most things we need very easily accessible.
    Its proximity to other bigger cities and attractive venues.
    4. I am courageous. I am learning to use my own difficult experiences to help me develop more empathy for others, and am sincerely interested in getting to know them and try to be a good listener. I have creative, artistic tendencies and a sensitive soul. I adore my son and feel I have done a good job for the most part of investing a lot of love and time into raising him, cherishing and delighting in him and the simple moments we’ve shared together, and am a good mother generally. I have good grammar and my ability to express myself in writing can be extremely satisfying and more effective than other means of communication I attempt.
    5 and 6. Would have to give more time and thought to both of these.

  3. 1. I love and work with all ages of children, but have no desire to be a mother myself.
    2. I would love to live somewhere less developed. I don’t know how long the initial honeymoon phase would last, but my happiest times have been when I was running around covered in dirt, eating questionable food, and exploring new places. Remember tripping through jungle mud in rainboots? Soy monstro!!
    3. I love my best friend/roommate. We live together downtown about a block away from the temple and church office buildings. Lots of parks and the Bonneville shoreline trail nearby. So far, it’s the happiest I’ve ever been in my life.
    4. I never get tired of learning. I am independent and would rather learn how to fix something than pay for someone else to fix it. I am very patient, which comes in handy when toddlers are screaming in my face and/or trying to physically assault me. I make all sorts of delicious curry, and can sew or alter just about anything.
    5. “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right” – Bob Dylan, “Don’t Ask Me Why” – Laura Marling, “Big Pimpin’” – Jay-Z (haters gonna hate).
    6. Oliver Sacks, easily. His voice is like melted butter.

  4. #1- I mostly don’t enjoy other people’s kids or grandkids. I feel impatient with them.
    #2 – I would probably just want to live in a brand new house about every 3 years, so everything would be all nice all the time.
    #3 – There are just a lot of nice people around here.
    #4 – I can sightread music really well. I play my flute in tune. I make GOOD cookies. My flowers are all pretty in my yard. I can follow a knitting pattern.
    5 – Stars and Stripes Forever. Nights in White Satin. Any Elvis Presley slow singing.
    #6 – Heck, I don’t have any idea.

  5. So, I read this, but you probably already know more about me than you care to. My toothbrush is pink, and I don’t know my shoe size because I inherited my dad’s freakishly wide feet, so I just wear whatever I can put my foot into. My son is in love with your daughter, even though they’re both two, and I have too many hobbies to be really productive with any of them. My husband has exactly two hobbies, so my endless projects drive him to love me deeply, I am sure!

  6. It’s an interesting thing putting your life out there on the interwebs for anyone to read, isn’t it? I often think of the absurdity of the whole endeavor and wonder who is reading that I have no idea about.

    1. My husband and I got married when he was 23 and I was 24. It just sounds so… young. I never thought I would be the person to get married so soon after college, but there you have it. Even though we are happily married I still harbor some of my old biases (or more accurately, I worry that other people harbor those biases) about getting married young and usually avoid mentioning that fact to new acquaintances.
    2. Corvallis, Oregon. Lived there for grad school and fell in love.
    3. The mild winter is perfect for biking all year round in Texas. The summer is hell, but the winter is blissful.
    4. I am a good listener and cook. I can admit when I am wrong. I am willing to try new things (big things like moving to new countries or small things like DIY projects). I make new people feel at ease in groups.
    5. Songs. Ugh. I love music, but am a lazy listener and the farthest thing from a music snob. I usually just turn on the radio and listen to whatever station doesn’t have commercials playing, so I am going to pass on this question. That’s allowed, right?
    6. Barabara Kingsolver. Love her words and her values.

  7. 1. I am a terrible housewife. I hate dishes and laundry and floor-mopping. I do it because I feel that it’s my duty. Also, I can’t afford to pay someone else to do it. I find ways to make it more enjoyable, but I look forward to a time when I can pay a maid to clean… One can dream, right?

    2. I would die if I had to remain in ONE place for the remaining days of my life. I have to move every two to three years to stay sane.

    3. I love that people speak English here in Georgia. I love that stores are open after 6pm. I love that I can understand street signs.

    4. I am a good speaker/teacher. I delegate well, which means I don’t get too overwhelmed with big projects. I love to learn. I’d be a full-time student if I could afford it. I enjoy photography, and some of my photos are pretty good. I’m always up to try new things. In fact, I get pretty bored if I can’t change things up regularly.

    5. I don’t think I love any songs enough to listen to them everyday for the rest of my life. I’d probably choose a church song to keep me inspired, an Enya song to keep me centered, and a Jack Johnson song to keep me smiling.

    6. Brittany, will you narrate my life? I love your written voice, humor, and snarkiness.

  8. howdy partner. i swear the last time i clicked on your “username” from my blog comments it took me no where. now i have a place to find you. i love your comments btw. thanks. excited to be able to check up on you now.

  9. So glad I found your part of the interwebs (and so glad you say that you feel a lot, feel pretty hard, and use your blog as a soapbox—I do the same thing with mine and feel the same way).

Leave a Reply

